Uninstalling. How can I completely uninstall CYPE program versions dating from the 2002 version or higher version?

We recommend before uninstalling or deleting any files, to make safety copies of all the jobs you wish to save and have been created with CYPE programs of any version.

Please consult the question in our FAQ: How can I make safety copies of jobs I have worked on?

To uninstall the CYPE programs, follow one of the following methods, depending on the version you have installed.

  • For 2012.d and later versions

    As of the 2012.d version, CYPE programs can be uninstalled using the Windows operating system tool to remove or uninstall programs. Depending on the Windows operating system in use, this tool can be executed in the following way:

    • Windows XP, 2000 and 2003 Server

      Windows Start button > Control panel >Add or remove programs > Find the program in the list and select it with the left mouse button > select the "Change or Remove" button of the program you wish to uninstall.
    • Windows Vista, 2008 Server and 7

      Windows Start button > Control panel > Programs and Features > Find the program in the list > right-click on the program to uninstall and select Uninstall.
    Using this tool, Windows will delete, from the drive where the CYPE programs have been installed, the following directories or elements:

    • Any shortcuts to CYPE programs which were created automatically by the CYPE installation wizard, be they on the desktop or in the Windows Start menu. If the user modifies the location or name of this shortcut, it will not be deleted.
    • The "Version...." subdirectory (corresponding to the version which is to be uninstalled) within the CYPE Ingenieros directory.
    • The "usr" directory if you activate the option to also delete all the CYPE program configuration files. This option will appear deactivated by default when the program is selected to be uninstalled in Windows. We recommended you do not delete "usr" directory if there are other CYPE program versions installed on the same drive. Deleting the "usr" directory would cause the loss of all the program options which have been configured by the user (reinforcement tables, Arquimedes report templates...).
    • The "CYPE Ingenieros" subdirectory will never be deleted (only the Version... subdirectory), as this is where CYPE programs save their jobs, drawings, reports, etc by default. If the user wishes to delete these subdirectories, he/she must do it manually and ensure that safety copies have been made containing the data to be saved.

  • For versions earlier than the 2012.d version

    When CYPE software versions spanning between the 2002 and 2012.c versions inclusive are installed, two directories are created in the hard drive selected for the installation. All the files required for the operation of CYPE programs are recorded in these directories. These directories are "usr" and "CYPE ingenieros". A shortcut icon is optionally generated (the user is asked during the program installation) in the Desktop and Windows Start menu.

    To completely uninstall all CYPE programs spanning between the 2002 and 2012.c versions, simply delete the two subdirectories and shortcuts mentioned previously. Remember to make sure you have made safety copies of all the jobs.

    The "usr" directory contains files which may contain information that has been generated or modified by the user. A description of the directories where these files are located is mentioned below. If you wish to keep this information, the directories indicated below should not be deleted. They may also be copied to a safe place.

    • Arquimedes report templates which have been created or modified by the user. These are located in the following directory: "usr\cype\win\arquimed\pl". Nonetheless, Arquimedes allows for template modifications to be saved in any directory.
    • Force combinations used by structural design programs. These are located in "usr\cype\config". If new combinations have been created, this directory should be saved.
    • Layer configurations of the DXF or DWG drawings generated by the program. These are located in "usr\cype\planos". If the original layer configuration has been modified, this directory should be saved.
    Any drawings in DXF format that the user could have generated using CYPE programs are saved in "CYPE Ingenieros\Drawings in DXF". If these DXF drawings have not been copied to other directories and wish to keep them, make a safety copy of "CYPE Ingenieros\Drawings in DXF" before deleting the "CYPE Ingenieros" directory.

    It may occur occasionally, that a "cad" directory has been generated containing DXF drawing files. If these files exist, they have been generated by an old CYPE program version. In this case, before deleting the "cad" directory, if there are any files which you wish to keep, copy them to a safe place.

    Other data generated by the user, such as reinforcement tables or generic joist floor slab tables, are saved with the job. Therefore, safety copies of this data are not required if safety copies of the jobs have already been carried out.

Top Top Top Section Go back go back

Top Top

©CYPE Ingenieros, S.A. - Avda. Eusebio Sempere, 5 - 03003 ALICANTE. Spain
Tel. USA (+1) 202 569 8902 // UK (+44) 20 3608 1448 // Spain (+34) 965 922 550 - Fax (+34) 965 124 950
Home | CYPE | Legal Aspects | Products | Versions | Downloads | Contact us
Bulgarian | French | Italian | Portuguese | Spanish | Spanish (Mexico) | Other dealerships